2nd Amendment Defense Rockford IL

Making good people helpless, won't make bad people harmless.

Utah CFP
Up IL CCL Utah CFP

 

Home
Up

"Lawful violence must sometimes be employed to deter and stop criminal violence." Utah Sheriffs' Association

USA Carry Registered Instructor

Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Training Coming Soon!

Do you want to expanded coverage beyond the states that Illinois allows? 

May 3, 2014 --- Training to become certified instructor for UT Concealed Firearm Permits completed! 

Do we currently offer state authorized concealed carry training? We are authorized, but we are waiting for logistical issues to be resolved first.

What should your next step be?  Email us at training@2ndinc.com to let us know you are interested (no obligation to register) in taking the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Training class.  

Classes to be held at 2nd Amendment Defense Inc., 4304 Maray Drive, Rockford, IL (1/2 mile from State & Alpine). Call 815-218-2847 or email training@2ndinc.com

Most likely, you want to know…

Who is your instructor?

What will be taught?

How much does the class cost?

What steps should be taken?

How long does the class take? / What will students need to bring?

What other states can the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit be used in?

 

Who is your instructor?

The Chief Instructor is Brian Konopa.  Brian is an NRA Certified Instructor in the disciplines of NRA Basic Pistol Shooting, NRA Personal Protection in the Home, NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home; and he is also an NRA Chief Range Safety Officer.  Rounding out Brian's firearm qualifications are being an Illinois Concealed Carry License instructor, an FFL dealer, and obtaining the rating of Distinguished Expert in the NRA/Winchester marksmanship program for Pistol discipline.  

What will be taught?

The Utah application mentions a firearms familiarity course.  This instructor-led curriculum will include the safe loading, unloading, storage, and carrying of the types of firearms to be concealed and current laws defining lawful self-defense, including use of deadly force, transportation, and concealment.  

How much does the class cost?

We are establishing a $75 pre-paid course fee which will include classroom materials, fingerprinting, and photo.  Students who want to provide their own photo for their application will receive a $5 discount.  Students who want to provide their own fingerprint cards will receive a $10 discount.  Students who wait until the day of class to pay will be charged an extra $10.

What steps should be taken?

There are no prerequisites to take the class.  And since the state of Illinois does not recognize the Utah permit, you don't even have to have your Illinois license to obtain your Utah permit.

How long does the class take? / What will students need to bring?

The classroom training is a mandatory 4 hours of instruction.  The additional time for photos, fingerprinting and other tasks is in addition to the 4 hours.  Students will want to bring a pen or pencil to take notes with.  Students will not be required to bring photos or fingerprint cards to class.  A 9 x 12 envelope to keep your information together is not required, but is handy. 

What are the Requirements to receive a Concealed Firearm Permit?

Applicants must be 21 or older.

Applicants must provide proof of a certified firearms familiarity course.  (The course we are offering)

Applicants must provide an applicant fingerprint card (only send in one card, even if two cards are filled out).

Applicants must provide a photocopy of their driver's license or state issued ID card (on an 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper).

Applicants must provide one recent color photograph of a size 2" x 2".

Applicants must submit a $51 non-refundable fee (check, money order or credit card) to the State of Utah

 

How Long Does it Take?

            From the time the permit application is filed, the license should be issued in 60 days.  

How Much Does a Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Cost?

The state has decided on a $51 fee for non-residents for the permit.  It is issued for a 5 year period.

What other states will the Utah Concealed Firearm Permit be valid in?

There is some overlap with the states honored by the IL license.  The states that will be gained by getting the Utah permit (if you already have IL) are: Delaware, Georgia, Louisiana, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.  

The states that are redundant are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Wisconsin.

Email for more information or to inquire about the availability of a desired date:  training@2ndinc.com

 

Click here to return to top